Soundtrack of My Life

Soundtrack of Life

I have always loved music.  I would write lyrics of certain songs on my notebooks in high school.  I would make mix tapes.  I would listen to certain songs over and over.  There are certain songs that speak to us.  We all have a song that as soon as we hear it on the radio it can take you back to a moment in time.  You can remember everything about that moment.  You can remember what you were wearing, where you were sitting, what you were doing…you are right there in that moment.  It is the soundtrack of your life.

My soundtrack is very eclectic.  It is composed of all genres of music from Pop Music to Country Music to Broadway (since recently being introduced to it by a dear friend).  If I think back to middle school I hear Wham!, Janet Jackson, Michael Jackson, The Go-Go’s.  Go back to high school and I hear Rob Base ,Public Enemy, Guns ‘N Roses, Lisa Lisa, Madonna.  Rewind to college and I hear U2, Pearl Jam, James Taylor, Sir Mix Alot, The Doors, Counting Crows, Hootie and the Blowfish, Jimmy Buffet.  Adulthood gets even more eclectic….Adele, Eminem, Shania Twain, Coldplay, Joss Stone, Taylor Swift, Martina McBride, Beyonce’, Kelly Clarkson, Justin Timberlake, Wicked, Les Miserables, Next to Normal (just got introduced to), Frozen, Lady Antebellum.  It honestly could go on and on.

There are those” go to songs” that we all listen to when we are depressed or ready to have a good time with our friends.  I feel more often than not, my “go to songs” are my songs that I can cry to but at the same time give me some happiness.  Listening to them allows me to release the sadness and the lyrics just say what I am feeling at that moment.

Here are my “Go To Songs” (no particular order)~

1.  Need You Now by Lady Antebellum

2. Still The One by Shania Twain (wedding song)

3. My Heart Will Go On by Celine Dion

4. Over You by Miranda Lambert

5. I Dreamed a Dream~ Les Miserables

6. Let It Go by Idina Menzel

7. You Don’t Know~ Next to Normal

8. Defying Gravity~ Wicked

9. For Good~ Wicked

10.  PS I Love You Soundtrack

Honestly I could keep adding to this list.  We all have our own soundtrack and our soundtrack can define us.  This is what makes music so beautiful.  It speaks to us.  It can let others know what our heart is feeling when we can’t find the words.  What is your soundtrack?

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack of My Life

Leave a Reply

