Growing My Business One Baby Step At A Time

45cda97e3340682c63df38be6ee824e7

I was recently asked to speak on a conference call to fellow Thirty-One “Sisters”.  Obviously I was flattered but I was a little bit nervous.  I was asked to share what motivates me to keep my calendar full and how to I keep it full. I have to say I was not sure of the answers.  I just knew what has worked for me.

People think working with a direct sells company isn’t real work.  I am here to tell you it is work.  What I love about Thirty-One is the flexibility it gives me.  I am a single mom.  If one of my children are sick, I need to be available to stay home with them.  I don’t have a huge support system and my pride doesn’t always make it easy for me to ask for help.  Thirty-One allows me to be the hands-on mom I want to be.  But I have to work my business.  

I block out chunks of time each day to work my business.  Is it the same thing every day?  Every week?  No.  But I am actively and intentionally working my business.  I didn’t find success with Thirty-One by just letting everyone know I sell it and carry the product. Of course it helps but that is not going to help you be successful. Am I always successful at the things I try?  Absolutely not!  But if you don’t try, you will never know.  I hold the keys to my success and it is up to me and only me to open unlock the doors.   So what is it that I do to be active and intentional with my business?

I learn my business.  I make it a point to utilize all the training material that is made available to me.  Thirty-One has an amazing website for all of us.  It is filled with tons of information.  It could be something as little as a 31 sec video clip to 31 Minute Call.  Everything is right at our fingertips.  If I feel I need help for example with bookings, I go right to the site and click on the training materials and I am bombarded with a ton of training material all on bookings.  So every week I make it a priority to train myself.  It helps my business as well as helps me to be a better Director for my team.

I work at it.  I have a “To Do List” just for Thirty-One.  I am going to make sure I follow up with leads or customers.  I am going to host my own show for my loyal customers and celebrate them.  I am learning how to use different avenues like Twitter, Instagram, etc to get my business out there.  I train my team and I am actively engaging with them on our team page.  I have to set the example.  They will follow my lead.  I try to read up on a variety of different ways to be a better director, consultant, sales person.  I will do trainings with other talented leaders within the direct sales field.

I try and think outside of the box.  Not everyone is the home party person.  I am constantly thinking of different but mostly fun ways to “party”.  Of course the home show is the best because your customers get the opportunity to see and touch the products.  But it’s more fun to have a game night or a wine tasting party.  It’s about getting together with your friends and having fun so make it fun!  If something isn’t working, I am going to make sure I find something that does work.  I know I need to listen to my customers/hostesses.  I make it a personal goal to get to know them and see what style “party” works best….open house style is my hostesses’ favorite.  But when I have my really fun and “silly” ladies we try games.  Let me tell you my absolute favorite party was when I invited my customers/hostesses over to my home and we played Bunco.  We were laughing, being silly, and just having fun!  So thinking outside the box of a traditional “home party” is always a win-win in my eyes.

I LOVE what I do.  Bottom line I am a Thirty-One Addict!  I LOVE the products and I use them.  Loving what you do is contagious.  It’s that simple.

I am just myself.  I don’t try to be someone I am not.  I am extremely honest with my customers and hostesses.  If I feel one of our products are priced too high, I am going to say it.  Or if I feel a product isn’t as durable, I am going to say.  If I don’t like a product, I am going to say it.  My customers like this and appreciate it.  I like getting a good deal so of course I want my customers to get an even better deal.  I am not pushy.  I sometimes feel that this is a flaw of mine.  But I don’t like “in your face” sales people so why would I treat my customers like that?  I am not going to harass a customer for a sale.  I am not going to force them to order something they don’t want or need.  My customers can attest to this…if they hesitate, they don’t want the product or need it.  It could be the monthly special and a fabulous deal.  But if they hesitate, I look right at them and say that there is no pressure to order it.  I pride myself on this.  Is it good business?  Maybe not.  But it’s how I do my business.

I may not do everything the way others do things.  I have high standards for myself.  I want to run my business with integrity.  I will not be unethical.  I will share my love of my business.  But if I am told you have a consultant, I will always say to go with her….always.  I would love to keep moving forward with this company.  I know it will not be easy.  I know I have and will continue to make mistakes.  I know there will be times when I want to quit because I can’t seem to get any parties.  I know I am the one who holds the cards.  Only I can make it happen.  Only I can make the choice to work my business.  I tell all my girls….You get what you put into it.

1488912_10201564509968361_1655024268_o

Leave a Reply

