Still the one

011

11 yrs ago today, I was getting ready for my wedding.  The day was cold, sunny, and there were a few inches of snow on the ground.  It truly was one of the happiest days of my life.  As I think back to my wedding day, I can only smile.  The day was exactly the way we wanted it to be.  It, also, got me thinking what I want everyone who is married or getting married to remember.

Life is hard.  You are partners in this life.  You are each others’ support system.  You may not always like each other but that’s OK. You need to remember the love you felt for each other from the moment you fell in love and decided to spend your lives together.  It is what will get you through the tough times.

Cherish each other and your time together.  Say “I love you” and mean it.  Hug each other.  Kiss each other.  Flirt with each other. And if you are blessed with children, show them how much you love each other.  It is the only way they will learn to love another person.

Don’t sweat the small stuff.  Even when life is throwing a million things at you at once and you are stressed, realize what you have with each other.  Realize that it is enough.  It doesn’t matter where you live, what car you drive, how much money you have, etc. None of that matters.  What matters is making a life together filled with joy and love.

Don’t take your time together for granted.  In a blink of an eye, your time can be taken away.  Don’t put off doing things because you think there is time.  That is one thing I get angry about.  Ryan used to say “Let’s wait….”  And for the past 3 1/2 yrs, I have been doing things he was supposed to be here doing with me and the our kids without him.  Don’t wait~just do it!  Have fun and make memories!

Laugh.

007

So I will raise my glass and toast the wonderful life Ryan and I made together.  Yes there will be tears shed because I truly feel cheated on our time together but mostly because I miss him terribly.  I will smile as I remember how wonderful of a life we created and the 3 best things that came of our love….our children.  Happy 11th Anniversary to the man who made me feel beautiful every single day of our life together and who I was lucky to have a wonderful life with if only for a short time.  You’re still the one… xoxo

One thought on “Still the one

Leave a Reply

