For Good

Having a moment where I am reminded of the blessing of true friendship and how rare it is.  You have friends that come in and out of your life at different times. I have several friends.  I have a lot of acquaintances.  But I have a select few who I let in because I know, without a doubt, they are my friends.  I can count on one hand my close friends.  Some have been with me for 1/2 my life and some within the past few years. They are the ones who know me and accept me for me~flaws and all.  They are the ones I trust without hesitation.  They are the ones who have been with me during happy times as well as the darkest times of my life.  I can be me and they have made me a better person.  They are the ones who build me up and support me.

Am I a different person to the other people in my life~yes and no.  I feel my qualities come through whether or not I am close to someone or not. If I can help someone, I will.  I will not want or expect anything in return.  I am just very cautious about who I let into my life.  I am this way for numerous reason and the no#1 reason is I have been walked on and betrayed by many friends and family since my husband’s death.  My guard is always up.  But I also feel it isn’t about the quantity of friends but the quality.  I treasure every person in my life.  I think they know that and know I don’t take them for granted.

To my handful of friends who are my family~ thank you.  Thank you for being you.  Thank you for your loyalty.  Thank you for your encouragement. Thank you for loving me when I am not so lovable.  Thank you for making me laugh when I want to cry.  Thank you for believing in me when I don’t believe in myself.  Thank you for the endless hours of listening to me.  Thank you for the joy you bring into my life

One thought on “For Good

Leave a Reply

