Confessions of a Mom

002

I have a confession to make~I am not a perfect mom.  I love the idea of thinking I am one.  But the bottom line is, I fly by the seat of my pants most days.  I look at posts on Facebook and listen to my mom friends talk about plans they have, things they did with their kids, etc.  I am in awe of all of you and applaud you.  But this mom has to go to “Mommy Confession”. So to take from my past in catholic school…

Forgive me Mom Gods for I have slacked.  It has been too many years to count since my last mom confession. Here goes nothing~

I have allowed my children to play hours on end on their electronics.

I have not made a complete meal in months.

My house is a mess.

I try as hard as I can to get my kids to keep to their “contract” and I am FAILING badly!

My kids sometimes sleep in the clothes they wore all day…THEIR choice.

I snoop in my daughter’s room to see if I can find anything that she is not sharing.

I have to rewash numerous loads of laundry because I forget that I had a load in the washer.

I wear the same 2 pair of jeans and yoga pants on a regular basis.

I drink, on average, 2 glasses of wine a night paired with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

I have not read the newspaper in years.

I beg and plead my children to brush their teeth and only 1 of them will do it without asking on a regular basis.

I make a summer bucket list and I am lucky if I cross 1 thing off of it.

I don’t read bedtime stories on a regular basis.

I don’t make my kids make their beds.

Some days I don’t like my kids and have even said it out loud (gasp).

I have told my kids to pull out pants from the hamper.

I don’t check if my kids have clean underwear on or any on for that matter.

Sometimes I hide from my kids to get a moment of peace.

I have lied to my kids so I didn’t have to do something I didn’t feel like doing.

I have forgotten to pack lunches.

I have thrown out toys without their knowledge.

I have hidden great snacks so I didn’t have to share.

I have forgotten to remind my daughter to put 3 teeth under her pillow.

I have regifted Tooth Fairy money.

I have used Tooth Fairy money to get a Dunkachino at Dunkin’ Donuts.

I have taken Beach Bucks, Disney Dollars, etc for my own personal use when I had no cash.

I am sure there is a lot more I could confess and more I will be adding to the list.  But for now this completes my Mom Confession. For my punishment, I will enjoy a kid free night and dog free night while they all sleep over at their grandparents house.  I will have 2 glasses of wine before heading to bed.  I will be guilt free because despite all the things I have done, my kids are happy and healthy.  They are loved beyond words and they are very well aware of it too.

8 thoughts on “Confessions of a Mom

  1. You are a phenomenal mom!!!! And they are incredible kids!!! And that’s why I love you! You are completely Real!!!! As our great philosopher Mama June Says “it is what it is!”😝.

  2. OMG! This had me laughing out loud!! You are seriously one of the best moms I know, and you enjoy being a mom more than anything!
    Love you!

    • lol!!! Thank you and yes I do enjoy being a mom however I don’t always like my kids 😉 Thank goodness for my wine therapy and my fabulous friends who get it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

