It’s OK

This is the time of the year that I start doing a lot of reflection on how I have survived another year as a widow.  In 2 short weeks, the day that my life changed in a blink of an eye will be upon me.  It has always been my goal when I began blogging to share my personal struggles and everyday trials (and joys) as well as to inspire others to keep going even when you don’t want to or don’t know how.  I hope that some of my upcoming posts may be filled with some insights on what someone goes through when life doesn’t go as plan.

I saw this pin on Pinterest (what a shocker) that pretty much sums up life for just about anyone…

8b7c3f12adfee9cf8a0b88f5372795c1

It is so true. Yes the part “and that’s OK” takes time~ A LOT of time. But reality is you can plan all you want.  You can have these amazing hopes and dreams.  But life has a way of changing within moments.  In the blink of an eye, everything changes.

It is OK to be mad.  It is OK to be sad about it.  Life is hard.  Just as life is not perfect, we need to remember we aren’t either.  Just as life goes on, so must we.  And let me tell you how much I hate hearing these 2 phrases….

Life doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle.

Things happen for a reason.

I am here to tell you that hearing them doesn’t change anything.  It doesn’t change a person who is completely devastated by something life has thrown at them.  It doesn’t make a person be less scared.  It doesn’t make a person be less hurt. It doesn’t change anything.  But these 2 phrases seem to be said so often to people who suffer hard times.  It may be because people do not know what to say.  Its OK not to know what to say.  Anyone who is suffering from a hardship doesn’t want you to say something just to say it.  They would rather hear you be honest and say you don’t know what to say.  Or better yet, don’t say anything at all.  Just let them know you are there for them.

Challenge yourself…the next time a friend or family member is going through a hard time, be honest.  I guarantee it will mean more to them than hearing those 2 phrases.

One thought on “It’s OK

Leave a Reply

