The Last of So Many Firsts

My baby girl lost her 1st tooth!  She couldn’t have handled it any better for the very 1st time.  No tears over the tiny amount of blood. No fear over it during the short process.  Me, on the other hand, had tears running down my cheeks.  It got to the point that I went up to my room and cried.  It reminded me that all of Gracie’s “firsts” are now my “lasts” as a mom.  I read a similar article on this a few months ago and it really didn’t get me thinking about it until the loss of her tooth.

10171881_10202079745890961_64801456_n

When you become a parent, you look forward to all the “firsts” and celebrate with your child.  You are beaming and feeling such happiness.  I was like this will all of my children’s “firsts”…1st steps, 1st time holding their bottles, 1st time going to the potty, 1st day of preschool, etc.  I always knew that all of Gracie’s “firsts” I would never experience again.  But it didn’t sink in until this moment. I will no longer experience the feeling of seeing  my child experience certain milestones for the very first time again.  I have already experienced the last of so many firsts…

First time rolling over

First steps

Sitting up

First word

Saying “mama”

Holding the bottle

First haircut

First laugh

First smile

First Day of Preschool

Riding a bike

Seeing Santa for the first time

First Birthday

First time on the potty

Losing your first tooth

This last of a major “first” has reminded me that I need to stop and relish in the moments that are yet to come for all 3 of my children.  No matter how many times my children have promised me that they will stay 5 forever, reality is they don’t.  My 1st baby will be 10 in a few weeks.  You know I will relish that moment because it is the last time for her to be that age  ever again.  It will remind me that I will be blessed to celebrate two more 10th birthdays and still have so many more “firsts” to experience.  But, hopefully, I will remember that once they happen, they will never happen again.

 

 

Leave a Reply

