Being Real

images (94)

My post yesterday got me thinking about how many adults have an image they show people who in reality it may not be who they really are.  I always thought that as I grew older this wouldn’t be something I would still deal with in my life.  To me it is high school behavior.  Time and time again, I see people pretend to be something or someone they aren’t and I just sit back and think “Why?”.

Why?

Be proud of who you are.  Be proud of all your hard work and what it took to get to where you are at this moment in your life. It is your life.  No two people have the same life because we all take different paths to get where we are in our life.  We all struggle.  We all have weaknesses. We all stumble. We all make choices how we handle our stumbles.

No one is perfect so why pretend to be perfect.  No one expects anyone to be perfect or at least they shouldn’t.  Everyone goes through things in their life that makes them who they are at this moment in their life.  These are the experiences that help you grow and help you to realize what is important and what you just don’t have the time or willingness to deal with.

I have removed myself from several relationships because I no longer want to have the “drama” of others’ insecurities.  I have enough of my own and to constantly have to worry about someone else’s, it makes it impossible for me to be the best me I can be.  It doesn’t make me feel good about myself especially when I know I have never done anything. But knowing this is why doesn’t mean I understand what causes people to do it.  Is it just their own insecurities?  Is it jealousy?  Is it both?  I don’t know.  But what I do know is that I don’t have time in my life to deal with it.  I don’t want to play games that I already learned lessons from while in high school. Everyone knows the “games”….one minute your friend and the next damning you either verbally or passive aggressively.

We all know these games because at some point in our life we played them. But with age, we mature.  With age, we become secure with ourselves.  With this security we become better people and better friends, daughters, mothers, sisters, wives.  When jealousy and insecurity takes over, it creates high school moments in adulthood.  I, for one, am over any unnecessary drama.  I am in my 40’s and don’t want to go back to the drama filled days of my teens. I will be there soon enough with my own children.

 

3 thoughts on “Being Real

Leave a Reply

