Spring Cleaning~WOW!

download (54)

I started the daunting task of Spring Cleaning and there is just one word to describe it…WOW!  I decided to start in the garage. For some unknown reason I felt this would be the easiest place to begin plus I am having plumbing issues in the kitchen so there was no way to start in the kitchen.  I learned a lot about my husband during the reorganizing of the garage.  He was a hoarder!  For the longest time I thought I was the only one who had an issue of getting rid of things.  Believe me I have a HUGE problem of getting rid of things but in my defense my things have sentimental value.  Ryan’s things…not so much.

I was blown away by the amount of left over trim, aluminum whatever, pens (collateral from his job), paint supplies, and nails/bolts. I could see the nails/bolts.  But the left over trim and how it was stored…I don’t get it.  You can’t use it.  Plus since I didn’t know it was there and I am pretty sure he didn’t either, I would just go out and buy more.  It is not like it was the expensive stuff.  So what did I do? I threw it out and let me tell you, I am so proud of myself!  I seriously was contemplating holding onto it.  Now to figure out how to get rid of all the paint cans safely that are in my garage.

Another thing I learned was he had an addiction to his passion…hunting.  OK I knew he had different hunting clothes for different seasons.  But once you start to look at it all you start to realize just how much this man owned.  I could open up my own hunting supply store out of my garage.  Hmmmmm maybe I am onto something!  The man had enough camo, ammo, decoys, tree stands, antlers to rub (yes I know what you do with them), face paint, scents, boots, socks, fishing rods, etc.  And I realized he used one of our garment bags that went with our luggage set to keep some hunting stuff in!  Now this has sentimental value and I have not done anything with it yet.  This is something I feel I need to get approval for and it has to come from my kids particularly from Ella.  So it will have to wait until she is in a good place to discuss.

It was the first time I was able to go through Ryan’s things and smile without any tears.  I could smell him for the first time in a long time.  It was nice.  It was something I needed for me since the past few months have been very hard.

Now what will next weekend hold? I am hoping between now and then I will come across a magic wand and be able to wave it and everything in my house will be clean and organized.  Well isn’t that wishful thinking!

2 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning~WOW!

  1. I love spring cleaning! A few weekends ago we had a big yard sale. We got rid of a lot of things and all that was left was really just junk. A lady had came up (she bought like $30 worth of stuff from us earlier in the day) and she said at the end of the yard sale if we had anything we didn’t want to donate to her she owned a junk shop. So instead of bringing it in and putting it all in boxes and storing it for a few months to have another yard sale and not be able to get ride of it we just took it all to her. I have to say I felt really good about just getting rid of all of it!! Best of luck with your paint cans! HA!

Leave a Reply

