Thank You but….

I am beginning to get a complex.  Over the past month or so, I have had several people comment on my appearance.  It is nothing bad.  They have actually been wonderful compliments.  But they seem to have emphasized how much my appearance has changed. You know that compliment…”You look SO GREAT!” or “You look AMAZING!”  It makes me feel great especially since my kids don’t really ever compliment me.  But when they emphasize certain words you begin to think did I look THAT bad before?

download (56)

I have to laugh to myself when the immediate comment following is about whether or not I am dating!  Apparently that is what adds to a woman’s appearance.  Then when I say no, I am bombarded with well why not?  Ummmm….not really anyone’s business why not.

I think unless you are in that person’s shoes you can’t completely understand why or why not a person does certain things.  I am very conscious of that because of my own situation.  I never assume or judge a person for any decisions in their life.  Everyone fights a battle that none of us understand.  Everyone’s life experiences affect everything they do in their life.  And it is important to remember that even if you are in a similar situation, it is your personal situation and it is not the same as anyone else’s situation.

So to the people who have complimented me…thank you!  The only thing different is weight loss.  I am not dating and have no plans for that anytime soon.  My kids keep me busy.  So busy that there is no time to keep up with all the things I have to do.  And any free time I do have, I don’t want to talk to anyone.  I would rather curl up and try to read a book all the way through.

And to all of you out there who find yourself in a similar situation….you owe no one any explanation for any decision you make. You do what it best for you and what makes you happy.  And take time to remind yourself about how far you have come and smile!

Leave a Reply

