Mission: Appreciation of the Little Things

I am on a mission to get my children to appreciate things in their life.  I want them to realize that not everyone is fortunate to have all they have or to be as healthy as they are.  So I have reached out to friends to let me know if they are a part of any organization or know of any organization that may be in need of Kiddy Bags (as I am calling them).  And I am going to have the kids help me to fill and deliver some to the various organizations.

10362377_10152180793023789_4483167411008305351_n

What is a Kiddy Bag?

I am hoping to gather items like school supplies, puzzles, crayons, playdoh, coloring books, small crafts, books, etc.  Or depending on the organization, specific items they may need.  I will put a few things together in a Kiddy Bag and hopefully make a child’s stay at the hospital or first day of school a little bit better.

10264578_10152180794043789_8818279537324904811_n

My hope is for them to see that it is the little things that can make the biggest difference in someone’s life.  I want them to know how much a simple pad of paper and a new box of crayons can help put a smile on a child’s face.  I want them to know how giving books to an organization that needs them can make so many children happy and start to love books as much as they love books.  I want them to know they can make a difference in the lives of others just by one simple act of kindness.

Maybe I have high hopes or too high of an expectation on how this will affect them.  But if I don’t at least try to have them be a part of something like this, I will never know.

If you are part of an organization or know of any that may benefit, feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

