Music~tells a story

I’m absolutely in LOVE with the IF/THEN Broadway Cast CD.  I have not seen the production but have read about it as well as heard, first hand, about it from a dear friend who saw it herself.  It is one of those musicals that touches upon a topic that many avoid talking about.  And we all know those are the topics that should be discussed.

For those who are unfamiliar with this production, it stars Idina Menzel~yes the voice of Elsa.  It is about a woman rebuilding her life in New York City.  But it shows a parallel story~ how one moment or decision can change everything.

I am not a theatre person at all and I apologize for my lack of  knowledge on it.  But I have been fortunate to have been introduced to it later in life.  And the shows I have seen make me want to see more!  And I am enjoying learning more about it as well as introducing my girls to it.  THIS is one show I truly want to see but I need to muster up the courage to see it live.  This CD gives me chills and makes me feel every emotion. I can only imagine sitting there and hearing her sing it live and putting the songs all together to tell the two stories.

After my friend saw it, she immediately said to me that it was me in part of the story.  That was all she would say.  Then came Idina Menzel’s performance on the Today Show and it just took one song for me to know what she was talking about yet not knowing at the same time.  I don’t want to give the one story line away because I don’t want to ruin it for anyone and I haven’t seen it so I don’t feel comfortable enough to even explain it.  But I have a basic idea as we did discuss it in more detail.  I have had the CD in my hands since Tuesday and whenever the kids are not with me, I blast it~ particularly 3 songs.  These 3 songs can pretty much sum up so much of all the different emotions I have personally felt (still feel) through in my life the past 4 years.  There is one that all I can say is WOW!  But I can’t share it with you due to the language in the song but I can relate to it…it is exactly how I feel at times.  And to be able to listen to a song and truly feel the emotion is just amazing.

http:////music.yahoo.com/blogs/music-news/idina-menzel-s-first-video-since–frozen—see-it-first–132652534.html

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

