Tying Shoe H%#$!!!

download (18)

I am in tying shoe hell and I don’t know how to get out of it!  I am in the process of teaching BOTH Hunter and Gracie how to tie their shoes.  Yes Hunter is heading into 2nd grade and he doesn’t know how to tie his shoes~ gasp!  I know he should have known for 3 years now and I own the fact I was just avoiding it.

I didn’t teach Ella.  I tried and her and I just butted heads through the process.  So Ryan stepped in and within 15 minutes the girl had it down.  I still think it was because of my initial instruction that she caught on so quickly.  So I always just assumed he would teach the other two and I was very happy to let him brag about it and have that role.

So now I am faced with these two lovely, patient, and eagerly awaiting to learn how to tie their shoes (you can read the sarcasm-right?).  Hunter has been asking for months and I, being such a wonderful mom, has held him off until now.  Really…why can’t they make the “cool” sneakers with velcro?  Really~help a mom out!  And of course Miss I Want To Be 16 needs to jump on the band wagon.

Bunny Ears

~Tell the child that he needs to make his shoe laces into “bunny ears.” 
~First, he needs to secure a knot for the bunny’s head. Take the laces and cross them over to make an “X”. Then, pull one ear through the bottom of the “X” and pull tight. 
~Say, “Now we need to give bunny some ears.” Loop the laces into “bunny ears”. 
~Tell the child that now we need to “make the bunny ears tight so they don’t fall off”. Then make another “X” using the “bunny ears”, slide one “ear” under the “X” and pull tightly. 

 

I think I have all the things I need to get this accomplished by the end of the week?  OK month?  I obviously have shoes with laces and a book….so embarrassed but I did buy one last summer.  It’s cute….it’s in the shape of a shoe and has cute songs to sing.  Really what 8 yr old boy wouldn’t want to learn this way?  I am NOT going to use the book with him….I think 😉

images (15)

I am prepared for tears-mine of course- and throwing of shoes (hopefully not at me or by me).  I am looking and I can see the light at the end of the tunnel where I no longer have to tie another shoe….woohoo!!!  But I will save my excitement until it happens but until then I guess I will practice the songs and hope for the best!

Leave a Reply

