Oh Stress…..

20333c31c444f16f8749a15f951ff6d0

What’s your favorite thing to do when you are stressed?

I used to exercise when I was stressed but that was before kids and before life happened.  Now my favorite thing to do when I am stressed is to just lay down and be surrounded by complete silence.  I like to just lay there with my eyes closed and breathe.

Well this has not been able to happen for some time.  But like everything in life, stress comes and goes.  Right now I feel it has taken over.  My eye is twitching non-stop!  I never had that before until after my husband passed away.  I find it very funny because every time he would be stressed about something, his eye always twitched.  So maybe he has a part of this twitching to annoy me!  Typically when I am under stress or feeling stressed out, I tend to be very testy- OK very grumpy!  So I have a twitching eye and I am extremely irritable right now.  I am starting to feel overwhelmed about getting everything done 2 days ago.

I look at my To Do List and I am immediately overwhelmed.  I have to say I accomplish a lot more when I am feeling this way but to get it accomplished is not fun at all.

I think we all tend to put certain expectations on ourselves and when it isn’t the way we want things, we tend to stress over it.  So I made a pledge to myself this afternoon to just do 3 things each day.  I need to just focus on little chunks as opposed to the HUGE picture.

Yes I made a HUGE To Do List but I started to break it apart.  And I actually accomplished a few things.  Every little thing counts toward the bigger goal.  Or so I am telling myself this.

Do you have anything you do to help when you are overwhelmed with everything that needs to get accomplished?

 

Leave a Reply

