Connection

a4b9d9791ae10d752e452d4e462fa2f1

If there was ever a time I needed to be clone, my kids’ Open House Night was definitely one of them!  But some how I made it to all 3 classes and only missed most of Gracie’s teacher’s talk.  But in my defense, my other 2 children had her and so I know what is expected and that Gracie is fortunate to have her.  I really just wanted to get there to get a hug and catch up!  But it was pretty funny when I came in REALLY late and the looks I got.

So what did I get out of my evening out?  Besides peace from over-tired children, I finally felt a connection to this school year.  You spend your time the first few days of school filling out all this paperwork for EACH child and get a very one-sided view of the year from your child.  As much as I dread listening to the beginning parts of the evening because, as our principal refers to parents who have been with the school for a while, I am a “veteran parent”, I look forward to getting to see where my child spends most of the day now.  Let’s face it during the school year your child’s teacher is the one person who spends the most time with them.  Why wouldn’t you want that connection made?

Now I am left to read more information about the upcoming school year and try to wrap my brain around all the new terminology and all that my children will (hopefully) learn in 180 days.  I have to be honest, I’m not sure how I made it out of kindergarten!

Now that my connection is made, I feel very ready to tackle this school year.  And I think I may need a tutor to survive 3 grade levels of work!

 

Leave a Reply

