Back to School Plan

009

We are into the second week of school and the second week of my “Back to School Plan”.  I wanted to have something in place to make our mornings as stress free- no mostly fight free- as possible.  I, also, wanted a more effective way for “chores” to be accomplished before school.  My kids are early risers and so there are some mornings where they literally have over an hour and half until it’s time for us to head to the bus stop.  And I learned from the past that once extracurricular activities start, our after school times/evenings are broken up which results in ME doing it.

The plan isn’t this amazing plan that works miracles!  There are no cutsie images.  I don’t even have a color-coded chart.  It is SIMPLE. They each have a mini clip board.  I have a list of things they must do before the TV can be turned on (this is the only electronic allowed in the morning).  Included on the list is ONE chore.  That’s it….ONE chore.  It is a simple 5 minute max chore.

008

Is it working?  To a degree.  I was hoping I wouldn’t have to remind them (ha!) and I was hoping for continuity.  I will settle for what I have seen so far~

Everyone is dressed.

Everyone has eaten breakfast (AND they help each other).

Everyone has their teeth and hair brushed.

Everyone’s bag is packed.

Everyone STILL needs to be reminded of the ONE CHORE.

Baby steps.  That is what I keep telling myself.  Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

